Skip to main content
Skip to main menu Skip to spotlight region Skip to secondary region Skip to UGA region Skip to Tertiary region Skip to Quaternary region Skip to unit footer



UGA Department of Chemistry graduate student Erica Mitchell has been named the 2024 recipient of the James L. Carmon Scholarship, given by the UGA Office of Research. Named for the late James L.

UGA Department of Chemistry graduate students Jessica Budwitz and Christopher DeAngelis were named as Poster Award winners at the recent Florida Heterocyclic and Synthetic Chemistry (FloHet) Conference, a biennial conference on heterocyclic and synthetic organic

Dr. Kelly Hines, Assistant Professor in the UGA Department of Chemistry, has been selected by the American Chemical Society (ACS) Publications as a Rising Star in Measurement Science.

The Chemistry Department is now accepting applications for Chemistry Learning Assistants (CLAs) for the Fall 2024 semester. CLAs are the individuals who rotate during recitation sessions and help answer student questions.

Dr. Melanie Reber and Dr. Christopher Newton, Assistant Professors in the UGA Department of Chemistry, have each received a CAREER award from the National Science Foundation (NSF) for their research.

Support Us

We appreciate your financial support. Your gift is important to us and helps support critical opportunities for students and faculty alike, including lectures, travel support, and any number of educational events that augment the classroom experience. Click here to learn more about giving.

Every dollar given has a direct impact upon our students and faculty.

Got More Questions?

Undergraduate inquiries: 

Registration and credit

AP Credit, Section Changes, Overrides,

Graduate inquiries:

Contact Us!

Assistant to the Department Head: Donna Spotts, 706-542-1919 

Main office phone: 706-542-1919 

Main Email:

Head of Chemistry: Prof. Jason Locklin