Skip to main content
Skip to main menu Skip to spotlight region Skip to secondary region Skip to UGA region Skip to Tertiary region Skip to Quaternary region Skip to unit footer


Rathnaweera Receives Best Poster Award from Materials Research Society

Rathnaweera MRS poster excerpt

Harshani Rathnaweera, a UGA Chemistry graduate student in the Salguero laboratory, was one of the Materials Research Society’s “Best Poster Winners” at the 2020 Virtual Fall Meeting. Her poster “2D Nanostructured Tetrasilicates with Cr(II) and Cr(II)/Fe(II) in Square-Planar Coordination” described her research on the synthesis, crystal growth, properties, and nanostructuring of metal chromium tetrasilicate materials ACrSi4O10 (A = Ca, Sr, Ba) with interesting magnetic properties. Rathnaweera’s poster was one of twenty honored at this meeting.

The Materials Research Society is the professional organization for materials-focused researchers, scientists, and engineers, with an international membership of about 14,000.

Support Us

We appreciate your financial support. Your gift is important to us and helps support critical opportunities for students and faculty alike, including lectures, travel support, and any number of educational events that augment the classroom experience. Click here to learn more about giving.

Every dollar given has a direct impact upon our students and faculty.

Got More Questions?

Undergraduate inquiries: 

Registration and credit

AP Credit, Section Changes, Overrides,

Graduate inquiries:

Contact Us!

Assistant to the Department Head: Donna Spotts, 706-542-1919 

Main office phone: 706-542-1919 

Main Email:

Head of Chemistry: Prof. Jason Locklin